World Car of the Year finalists announced

The World Car Awards has revealed the finalists for the title of 2016 World Car of the Year.

This year’s finalists were selected by a jury of 73 international automotive journalists and include:

  • Audi A4
  • BMW X1
  • Hyundai Tucson
  • Jaguar XE
  • Land Rover Discovery Sport
  • Mazda CX-3
  • Mazda MX-5
  • Mercedes GLC
  • Skoda Superb
  • Toyota Prius

The organization also revealed five finalists that will be competing for the title of World Luxury Car of the Year.  Contenders include the Audi Q7, BMW 7 Series, Jaguar XF, Mercedes GLE Coupe, and Volvo XC90.

Five contenders will compete for the title of World Performance Car of the Year including the Audi R8, Chevrolet Camaro, Honda Civic Type R, Mercedes-AMG C63 Coupe, and Range Rover Sport SVR.

At the other end of the spectrum, the finalists for World Green Car of the Year include the BMW 330e, Chevrolet Volt, Toyota Prius, Toyota Mirai, and Volkswagen Passat GTE.

Lastly, contenders for World Car Design of the Year include the Cadillac CT6, Mazda CX-3, Mazda MX-5, Jaguar XE, and Land Rover Discovery Sport.

The winners will be announced at the New York Auto Show on March 24th but, in the meantime, feel free to let us know who you think should.